Today 126 years ago Léon Houa won the first Liège–Bastogne–Liège

May 29, 2018 - Arnim van Uijtregt

An incredible 126 years ago, the first edition of La Doyenne was contested. The first to cross the line was Léon Houa after 250km in Spa.

Today 126 years ago, the first edition of Liège–Bastogne–Liège was organized. Back then, the race was contested by amateurs. In 1892, the race was from Spa to Bastogne and back, over a 250 km distance.

Thirty three riders, all Belgians and most of them from Liège, took the start. Only 17 finished. The course halfway turn point was the train station in Bastogne. Some tired riders abandoned the race in Bastogne and took the train back to Spa. Léon Houa, a Liège native, won the race after 10 hours and 48 minutes on the bike. The second-place finisher, Léon Lhoest, came in at 22 minutes, the third, Louis Rasquinet, at 44 minutes. It took over five hours before the last rider arrived at the finish line.

Liège - Bastogne - Liège - 1892